Jil Sander-Glo? Design News at Uniqlo

Since living in Tokyo for two years and now in NYC, I have become a  huge fan of Uniqlo. Minimalist designs meet fun colors and any urban wallet can afford. Now the queen of minimalism has signed on to become head of design at the Japanese megachain. “Some of you [have known] me since I have been engaged in fashion but I’m not interested in the past. Let us talk today about the future,” Jil Sander, clad in a black knee-length coat, said. “I’m here in Tokyo for something completely different. The challenge for me is to establish a premium quality in a democratically-priced range.” Taken from Spring 2005 Jil Sander, could we be seeing more of this?  We’ll have to find out.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

