Super Sample Sales in LA

Often times friends and coworkers see the clothes I strut around the office or at MOCA events. And they ask how I buy the things I wear. A Mike and Chris s/s 07 metallic nylon jacket?!  Hmm?  Everyone knows my job doesn’t nearly pay as much as I would have wished for. So how do I keep my wardrobe updated? The secret is samples sales. I love them, and one of the perks of working in Downtown is that it’s only a hop, skip, and trot away from the Cooper Design Building, where most small to mid designers host their sample sales. With only an hour for lunch, I brave the Downtown foot traffic, yes to the other side of Grand Central Market by Broadway, in my Marc Jacobs square-toe pumps. The FIDM students add to the shopping frenzy, or should I say fiestiness! Anyhoo, Daily Candy LA published this weekend’s shopping guide and I say yes! to the following:

I’m eyeing these pieces. A powder blue mesh tank to go with black lame tights. Or a polka dot woven shirt for the unexpected intelligentsia geeky chic in me.  Both found at Rodan vs. Griffith on 3rd.

Happy shopping! 

Multidesigner Sample Sale
What:
Annie Costello Brown leather accessories and clothing from Wren and Magda Berliner all priced $10-$200.
Why: Saleallujah!
When: Sat., 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
Where: Rodan vs. Griffith, 8207 W. Third St., b/t La Jolla & Sweetzer Aves. (323-951-9220‎). Map It

Lauren Moffatt Sample Sale
What: Samples and overstock going for up to 80 percent off retail (which put her darling summer dresses around $80).
Why: Little Miss Moffatt.
When: Fri., 10 a.m.-1 p.m.
Where: Cooper Building, 860 S. Los Angeles St., at Ninth St., ste. 533, Downtown. Cash only. Map It

Happy LA One-Year Anniversary Sale
What: Up to half off spring and summer clothing from Mike & Chris, Raven Tailored, Genetic Denim, and more.
Why: C’mon get happy.
When: Thurs.-Sat., 10 a.m.-6 p.m.; Sun., noon-5 p.m.
Where: 542½ Palisades Dr., off W. Sunset Blvd., Pacific Palisades (310-459-5511).

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

